T20 World Cup 2021: Virat Kohli sits out as Rohit Sharma leads India against Australia in warm-up game

Rohit Sharma is main Team India towards Australia within the T20 World Cup 2021 warm-up match as common captain Virat Kohli has determined to take a seat out. Also, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami are resting.

Meanwhile, Australia received the toss and opted to bat first towards India within the warm-up match of the continuing ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on Wednesday at ICC Academy Ground in Dubai.

Speaking on the toss, Australian skipper Aaron Finch stated, “We will bat first. Batted second in the last game, so looking to change things up a bit. It’s going very well at the moment. Josh Hazlewood is the only one who’ll not take the field today. Mitchell Swepson and Josh Inglis aren’t playing as well.”

On the opposite hand, India stand-in skipper Rohit stated, “Kohli, Bumrah, and Shami are resting today. We wanted to bat first as well, just wanted to try and get runs on the board. We want to make sure that we get the 6th bowling option, some options in the batting order as well, we’ll try all those things today.”

“Hardik is coming along pretty well, but it’ll be a while before he will start to bowl. He hasn’t started bowling, but he should be ready by the start of the tournament. We have quality in the main bowlers, but you need an option for a sixth bowler,” he added.

On Monday, India defeated England by seven wickets of their first warm-up match. Chasing 189, India bought off to a superb begin as opening batters KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan performed essential knocks of 70 and 51 runs, respectively.

After this match, India will subsequent play Pakistan of their opening sport of the T20 World Cup on October 24 whereas however, England can be going through West Indies on October 23.

In Group 2, India will then face New Zealand and Afghanistan, the rising pressure in T20 cricket, plus the winners of Group B and runners-up from Group A.

India squad: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar, and Varun Chakravarthy.

Australia squad: David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade(w), Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Josh Inglis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Swepson, Glenn Maxwell, and Pat Cummins.


Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment